Housekeeping

Just getting a little tired of mehendi-green all over the place and trying some of the other options. I always go for certain combinations of black and green, so this feels like a good theme, and I like the cleanness of it. The other one was beginning to feel a bit too full of frills and furbelows, a little girl’s frock.

Thinking again about poems, because Jen asked me for my favourites. I keep exchanging poems with friends, of course I have favourites, but I’m having a hard time being definite about it just now. At the moment I’ve been immersed in Adrienne Rich. This one, Transcendental Etude, is too long, too complicated, to post entirely, but here’s one stanza I’ve been mulling over recently:

But there come times–perhaps this is one of them–
when we have to take ourselves more seriously or die;
when we have to pull back from the incantations,
rhythms we’ve moved to thoughtlessly,
and disenthrall ourselves, bestow
ourselves to silence, or a severer listening, cleansed
of oratory, formulas, choruses, laments, static
crowding the wires. We cut the wires,
find ourselves in free-fall, as if
our true home were the undimensional
solitudes, the rift
in the Great Nebula.
No one who survives to speak
new language, has avoided this:
the cutting-away of an old force that held her
rooted to an old ground
the pitch of utter loneliness
where she herself and all creation
seem equally dispersed, weightless, her being a cry
to which no echo comes or can ever come.

~ by mortarandpestle on March 12, 2008.

5 Responses to “Housekeeping”

  1. Every time I read Adrienne Rick I fall in love with her all over again.

    I like the renovation.

  2. Oh god I misspelled Rich. *Typing in the dark*

  3. Beautiful – I wish you’d post the rest but I will look for it.

  4. Adrienne Rich is a favorite of mine, and I don’t really like poetry that much, but she really speaks to me.

    I like the new look. I was surprised when I came over and you didn’t look like you anymore!

  5. I’m liking her more and more these days; she reminds me a lot of Annie Dillard.

    It’s funny how strongly we associate people with their online layouts, isn’t it? I pause myself every time I see my new layout too.

Leave a Reply

 
