Shifting Equinox

I’m just back from a weekend in the hills: no cell phone, no TV, no internet, lots of winding roads, long walks and fresh air, and peaceful time to think. I wound up writing every evening; candlelight flickering on the wooden furniture, stars wheeling bright above the lights of the town below, and the moon bright and full of promise soaring above the trees. I wrote painful, honest, confessional letters to the people I love in my journal every night, and then wound the string around and around it securely; I don’t think these are to be sent just yet. Now I feel lighter, happier, ready to finally take on all the things I’ve been meaning to do to create a life worth living. Sometime this week I will make two plans: one for life now, with time alloted to exercise, social life, writing, maybe a couple of classes in things that I’ve always wanted to learn — the flute, classical Indian dance, finally becoming fluent in French. The other one is for the future: to finally reach the stage of financial and physically distant independence from my family that I’ve been struggling to for years; I can see at last what it will look like, what it will take to get there. It’s a good feeling.

~ by mortarandpestle on March 24, 2008.

4 Responses to “Shifting Equinox”

  1. Beautiful. Good luck, MP. Which Indian dance are you interested in, by the by?

  2. It’s amazing what literally getting away from the day to day can do for our well being, eh?
    Just wanted to say, I’ve been loving the posts, and the template change is great.

  3. Araliya: I’m most interested in Bharatnatyam, but Odissi is pretty fascinating too.

    OBW: Thanks!

  4. 😀
    I did bharatnatyam for 4 years, and I absolutely love it. If you’re ever in the DC area, do check out The Tehreema Mitha Dance company – she does pure classical as well as contemporary and also does interesting blends of the two.
    I love the rigidity of bharatnatyam, but then Odissi has that lovely lilting walk. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

 
